Omeka Add Ons
Once you have your Omeka page created, you can improve upon it through additional themes and plugins. Check out the following sites. If you want to include any of these add-ons with your Omeka page, please contact Carey Heatherly.
Dublin Core
Dublin Core is used to organize the metadata for Omeka. Quite simply, this is the description of your items. Professors can decide if they want to use standard descriptors or allow students to come up with their own. Keep in mind that these descriptors are what make the items searchable. Misspellings and/or non-standardization can create problems with searching.
Omeka
Below are links to classes that have used Omeka.
- Archiving MontevalloCollections and items from the Anna Crawford Milner Archives at the University of Montevallo.
- ART 327: Collection ManagementStudents in ART 327 Collection Management assemble an archive of items stored in Bloch Hall at the University of Montevallo.
- History of Ireland ArchivesStudents in the HIST 411 History of Ireland seminar at the University of Montevallo compile an archive of items associated with the history and culture of Ireland.
- Medieval European HistoryAn interactive digital archive that profiles the life, religion, culture, politics, and history of Medieval Europe. This Omeka archive is a class project compiled by students in HIST 447/547 with Dr. Robert Barone
- The Montevallo ProjectUnder developmment, Spring 2018
- Outlaw BalladsA Spring 2018 project from Dr. Valerie Johnson's English 319 class, Outlaw Ballads offers a multi-modal approach to the earliest literary works featuring Robin Hood.
Omeka Tutorials
New to Omeka? Find out how to use it to the fullest of its abilities through the links listed below. Still have questions? Contact the library.
- Omeka CodexAll the documentation you need to answer your questions . . . straight from Omeka.
- Adding an ItemThis video deals specifically with the 9/11 Living Memorial Digital Archive Omeka site, which is an older version of Omeka, but you can still get some ideas about the process for adding items.
- Adding an ItemAnother video about how to add an item in Omeka. Again, this video is using an older version of Omeka, but you will still get the basic idea.
- Building a CollectionIt is important that you build collections correctly in Omeka. Before you start creating a collection, make sure to watch this video. It highlights some of the dangers of doing this incorrectly.
Useful Tools
- JingCapture sections of an image on your screen and turn them into images
- Adobe ReaderTake shots from articles and create images with them.
Archivist and Reference Librarian / Associate Professor
Sites that Use Omeka
The link below will take you to a list of sites that use Omeka. Use this for ideas as you consider how to use your site. We encourage you to examine how others at Montevallo have used Omeka by checking out the class Omeka sites located on this guide.
