Books in Carmichael Library
A History of Private Life. Volume 1. From Pagan Rome to Byzantium by Call Number: D21 .H5713ISBN: 0674399749Publication Date: 1992-09-01First of the widely celebrated and sumptuously illustrated series, this book reveals in intimate detail what life was really like in the ancient world.
Roman Builders by Call Number: TH 16 .T38ISBN: 0521803349Publication Date: 2003The illustrations include archival and original photographs, as well as numerous explanatory drawings.
Domestic Space in Classical Antiquity by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0521783364Publication Date: 2010Housing is shaped by culturally-specific expectations about the kinds of architecture and furnishings that are appropriate; about how and where different activities should be carried out; and by and with whom. It is those expectations, and the wider social and cultural systems of which they are a part, that are explored in this volume.
Roman Woodworking by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0300103417Publication Date: 2007This book presents an authoritative and detailed survey of the art of woodworking in the ancient Roman world. Illustrated with over 200 line drawings and photographs, Roman Woodworking covers topics such as the training and guild memberships of Roman carpenters, woodworking tools and techniques, the role of timber in construction and the availability of trees, and interior woodwork and furniture making. It also includes an extensive glossary of fully defined terms. This comprehensive book displays the accomplishment of the Roman woodworkers and their high skill and knowledge of materials and tools. Ulrich helps bring to light the importance of wooden projects and structures in Roman daily life and provides a wealth of information not only for classicists but also for those interested in the history of technology and the history of woodworking.
Best Bet
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780195170726Publication Date: 2009The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics.
Terms and Research: Open sites
Classical Art Research Centre. Beazley Archives. University of Oxford
An amazing resource for the study of Classical Art, especially pottery. A rich collection of images, bibliographies, timelines, short essays and an online dictionary.
Sample Search terms for Discovery and WorldCat library catalogs
- Architecture Roman
- Architecture Domestic Rome
- Dwellings Rome History
- Households Rome History
- Woodwork Rome
- Mural painting and decoration Rome
- Interior decoration Rome
