Books in Carmichael Library
Origins of Classical Architecture by Call Number: NA 275 .W55 2014ISBN: 0300182767Publication Date: 2014The Greek architectural orders Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian lie at the heart of the classical traditions of building, and yet satisfying accounts for their origins have proved elusive. In contrast with conventional theories that would see the orders originating over the course of a long evolution, this book stresses the suddenness of the phenomenon and its dependence on historical context, human agency, and artistic inspiration.
A Brief History of Ancient Greece by Call Number: DF214 .B74 2004ISBN: 0195156811Publication Date: 2004The story of the ancient Greeks is one of the most improbable success stories in world history. A small people inhabiting a country poor in resources and divided into hundreds of quarreling states created one of the most remarkable civilizations.
A Social History of Greece and Rome by Call Number: HN10.G7 G73ISBN: 0684193094Publication Date: 1993Michael Grant uses current scholarship and his own insight to present the social histories of the ancient Greek and Roman states. Topics will include slaves, women, sexual habits, finances and the rich.
Best Bet
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (Print version) by Call Number: Reference Collection DE 5 .O9 2012ISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity
Terms and Research: Open sites
- Classical Art Research Centre. Beazley Archives. University of Oxford
An amazing resource for the study of Classical Art, especially pottery. A rich collection of images, bibliographies, timelines, short essays and an online dictionary
Timelines and Museums
Sample Search terms for Discovery and WorldCat library catalogs
- Architecture Domestic Greece
- Architecture Greek
- Art Ancient Greece
- Art Greek
- Dwellings Greece history
- Greece History
- Greece social conditions
