Newspaper Databases
- African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers (1827-1998), a full text collection of historical newspapers, provides "a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life."
- Alabama News Sources This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.I Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
- America's News This link opens in a new window
Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
University of Montevallo Milner Archive Newspapers
- AlabamianDigital copies of the University of Montevallo school newspaper.
- Scrapbook CollectionThe Scrapbook Collection is collection of newspaper clippings from 1915-1995. Each clipping is the original newspaper story. The university librarians clipped newsworthy stories about the school from local newspapers and glued the clippings in a series of scrapbooks. The University of Montevallo National Foundation Board awarded a grant to the Carmichael Library in 2013 to digitize the scrapbooks. The original print scrapbooks are in the Milner Archives.
- W.M. "Mack" Wyatt Digital ArchiveThe W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive serves as a repository for archived newspapers printed in Montevallo and Shelby County, Ala., particularly in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. As this digital archive expands, newsprints appearing in various formats will be added.
This collection is made possible by a gift from Clayton M. Nordan (M.A. ’76).
Digitized Newspapers
Alabama Newspapers on Microfilm Database
This database includes newspapers that are available on microfilm. The microfilm is available for use in the Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH) Reference Room. The microfilm may be ordered on interlibrary loan from your local library, and some reels are available for purchase. The ADAH collection also includes newspapers that have not yet been microfilmed. Click here for the database of additional non-microfilmed newspapers at the ADAH.
(Don't know the county? Click here for a list of Alabama towns and cities and corresponding counties.)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Birmingham Public Library Digital Collection of Birmingham newspapers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Chronicling America
A joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Currently, you can search and view pages from newspapers of the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive. Coverage is 1890 to 1922 but varies by title.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Provides access to some newspapers published in the United States. Google stopped the digitization project in 2010.
Where else can I look?
Beyond our online resources, The Carmichael Library has newspaper titles in both micro-form and print. Check the Library catalog to search for newspapers. The following list is not comprehensive.
Birmingham News
Birmingham Post-Herald
Shelby County Reporter
Newspapers from Virginia and South Carolina
