Featured Print Reference Source
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing by Call Number: Ref. D 14 .E53 1999ISBN: 1884964338Publication Date: 1999
Print reference books are on the main floor of the Carmichael Library.
More History Resources
In additon to the databases listed on the Journals page, Carmichael Library subscribes to other online history resources, including:
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 650 history reference books and encyclopedias, cover to cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies and 12,000 historical photos, maps and other images.
- Annals of American HistoryAmerican History from Encyclopedia Brittanica
Dictionaries & Biographies
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. | Watch Video Tutorial - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains critical and biographical information on literary figures in a wide variety of genres and throughout history. Watch a video tutorial.
Why Reference Sources?
In order to do research in any subject area, you'll need a range of sources, including books, journal articles, newspapers, blogs, magazines, and perhaps other kinds of websites. Reference sources compliment your study and guide you as you establish your ideas. They are designed to provide overviews of existing scholarship, concepts, and knowledge in any given subject. Reference sources make a concerted effort to present information objectively, and they allow you to access quality information quickly. Often, you'll find the most important scholarly sources that exist by first consulting a reference source.
Reference sources are unlike "regular" books in that they cannot be checked out of the library; you can always count on them being on the shelf. Be sure to explore each of these categories as you begin the research process.
History Reference Sources: American History
- The Oxford Companion to United States HistoryDiscusses American history in terms of politics, military history, social and cultural trends, science and technology, the arts, and religion.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick DouglassDocuments African and African American experience from 1619 to 1895, addressing how American culture, history, and national identity have been influenced by the experience of African Americans.
- Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the PresentTraces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape.
- The Oxford Companion to American Military HistoryContains entries on relevant acts of Congress, diplomatic policies, peace and antiwar movements, war in film, and on representations of war in the arts.
- Dictionary of American Family NamesContains more than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes.
- The Oxford Companion to Family and Local HistoryProvides practical and contextual information for anyone inquiring into their English, Irish, Scottish, or Welsh origins and for anyone working in genealogical research, or the social history of the British Isles.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaCovers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureEntries about people, places, and events related to American pop culture in the twentieth century.
- Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and HistoryA comprehensive encyclopedia covering the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.
History Reference Sources: British History
- A Dictionary of British HistoryDescribes the people and events that have shaped domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.
- The Oxford Companion to British HistoryCovers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day, addressing politics, economics, social history, military, people, events, and institutions.
- A Dictionary of British Place NamesTraces the development of place-names from earliest times to the present day. Entries are complemented by a detailed introductory essay discussing the chronology and development of English, Irish, Welsh, and Scottish place-names, as well as an extensive bibliography, maps of Britain showing old and new boundaries, and a glossary of common elements in place-names.
- The Kings and Queens of BritainContains information on the rulers of Britain, including their policies, personalities, key dates, and legacies. Spans the Romano-British rulers from 55 BC to the present day House of Windsor. Includes maps, photos, paintings, and genealogies.
- The Oxford Companion to Irish HistoryEntries explore Irish history from earliest times to the early 21st century.
- The Oxford Companion to Scottish HistoryEntries analyze key themes such as national identity, women and society, living standards, and religious belief across the centuries. Also includes maps, genealogies, a glossary, a chronology, and an extensive guide to further reading.
- Encyclopedia of the EnlightenmentCovers the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815. Includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
- The Oxford Companion to Black British HistoryEntries about the history of black people in the British Isles from Roman times to present. Includes discussion of key historical events, biographies, and timelines.
- A Dictionary of English Manuscript Terminology 1450–2000Information about manuscripts and their production and use in Britain from 1450 to the present day.
- Brewer's Britain and IrelandA richly fascinating and browsable 'heritage tour' of places and place-names in Britain and Ireland.
- Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and HistoryA comprehensive encyclopedia covering the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.
History Reference Sources: World History
- A Dictionary of World HistoryIncludes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for countries, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places from prehistory to the present day.
- A Dictionary of Contemporary World HistoryEntries on the most important people, organizations, and events that have shaped global history from 1900 to the present day.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptDiscusses the social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of Ancient Egypt.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeOverview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical WorldCovers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle AgesCoverage of art and architecture, medicine, law, archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceDiscusses the Renaissance from fourteenth to seventeenth-century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
- Dynasties of the WorldOutlines the years of rule and family relationships for dynasties throughout history and to the present day.
- The Oxford Companion to Military HistoryAn overview of military history from classical times to the present.
- The Oxford Companion to World War IICovers major aspects of the war, including politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesChronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World HistoryBiographies of influential women in world history and articles covering women's contributions to history, culture and society, organizations, and movements.
- Who's Who in the Twentieth CenturyBiographies of people from different countries and cultures who have contributed to thought and action in the twentieth century.
- A Dictionary of SuperstitionsCovers the wide range of folk beliefs that have survived into our own age. Each superstition is illustrated by quotations tracing its development through the centuries.
- Biographical Dictionary of Modern EgyptConvering the period from 1760 to the present, provides biodata, biographical sketches, and source material for men and women who have played a major role in Egypt's national life.
- The Bridgeman History of ScienceA specialist selection of images relating to the history of medicine and science.
