Argument to search terms
- Think of your argument / research question in two or three concepts.
- Use a database Thesaurus to locate search terms for each concept
- Always choose ADVANCED SEARCH
- Enter your search terms in each search box and separate each term with AND
Database Search Strategies Guide
Sociology Journals
Below is a list of scholarly journals in Sociology. This is not an exhaustive list. Consult Dr. Lowry or a librarian with any questions about a journal's credibility.
Sociology Subject Headings
Searching with Subject Headings
Standardized subject headings are used for subject searches in library catalogs. Some sample subject headings relating to sociology:
- Clinical sociology
- Communities
- Criminal Behavior
- Criminology
- Deviant Behavior
- Group Identity
- Organizational Sociology
- Political Sociology
- Social Change
- Social Conditions
- Social Conflict
- Social Ethics
- Social Influence
- Social Institutions
- Social Problems
- Social Psychology
- Social Structure
- Social Systems
- Socialization
- Sociological Aspects
- Sociological Jurisprudence
- Sociology
- Sociology Research
- Subculture
Find Help
We are happy to help you with your research! Chat with us using the blue chat box in the right corner of your screen. 💬 ↘️
- Email us
- Meet with us
- Call us: 205-665-6100
- Visit us: 1st Floor Research Help Desk
Core Library Databases for scholarly articles
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers indexed records from top sociology journals covering many related studies. It also provides full-text access to articles from curated open-access journals.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database offers content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports, and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. - ScienceDirect College Edition Journals Collection: Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
This collection features social and behavioral science journals and ebooks - including arts & humanities, business and accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Use these instructions to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is a global knowledge database featuring information about countries' culture, history, language, travel, and education.
Brainstorm search terms
Sample Topic: Women in the music industry (gender roles)
Strategy: Brainstorm on your own and consult a database Thesaurus for scholarly terms
- PsycINFO Thesaurus
- ERIC Thesaurus
- Communication and Mass Media Thesaurus
- Subject Headings in citations
- Library of Congress Subject Headings
| Women | Music Industry | Race, gender, age, social issue?? |
| Women | Music industry | Gender Roles |
| Females | Management | Sex Roles |
| Executives | Rock Music | Nontraditional Careers |
| Working Women | Sound recording industry | Discrimination |
Discovery Search Box
Search Strategy
Find scholarly articles and more in the library's Discovery Search box. The Discovery system searches for articles, books, and other material in the entire library. You can limit articles to peer reviewed.
Try this search strategy to locate scholarly sources
Sample topic: Women in the music industry (gender roles)
- Limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals
