Skip to Main Content

SOC 499: Statistics and Data

Google strategies for finding government information

 Use a site: search. This will limit your search to a broad domain (e.g., .org sites, .edu sites, .gov sites) or to a specific website (e.g., http://www.urban.org).
EXAMPLES

  • maternal care site:.gov
  • natural disasters site:.gov
  • women discrimination site:.gov
  • international students site:.gov

Find Help

We are happy to help you with your research! Chat with us using the blue chat box in the right corner of your screen. 💬 ↘️

 

Library database for statistics and data

Data by Topic: Open and authoritative sites

  • UNData
    Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
     
  • DataBank
    DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. 
     
  • OECD Statistics 
    Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provides extensive statistics by topic, including Education and Training.
  • United States Census Bureau 
    The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
     
  • Census Academy 
    Online training videos to learn how to access census data.
     
  • World Bank Data Catalog
    The Open Data Catalog lists all data adhering to the Open Data terms of use. This catalog lists all Open Data and other publicly available data disseminated through World Bank sites, but may have some restrictions on use.
     
  • CIA World Factbook 
  • FiveThirtyEight
    This website, named after the number of electors in the electoral college, provides polling info, the return on campaign funds by state, and the electoral history of states.
     
  • Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)
    KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
     
  • Pew Research Global Indicators Research 
    ​​​​​​​Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. The Global Indicators Database contains data from nearly 600,000 interviews in 64 countries.
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, CMS, is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
     
  • National Center for Health Statistics 
    The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
     
  • Kids Count. Data Center
    KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families.
  • ILOSTAT
    Statistics on worldwide labor, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts.
     
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics 
    BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor and collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data on topics such as inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
  • AIDDATA
    AidData is a research lab at William & Mary's Global Research Institute. We equip policymakers and practitioners with better evidence to improve how sustainable development investments are targeted, monitored, and evaluated. We use rigorous methods, cutting-edge tools, and granular data to answer the question: who is doing what, where, for whom, and to what effect?
     
  • Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
    The Poverty Mapping Collection enhances our understanding of the geographic distribution of people living in poverty and the conditions of their environment. The data assists policy makers, development agencies, and academic researchers in making decisions to reduce poverty.
  • Data.gov
     
  • National Center for Education Statistics 
    The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally. 
     
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics
    BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes.
     
  • Association of Religion Archives (ARDA)
    The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. 
     
  • KIDS COUNT
    KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families.
© 2022 University of Montevallo