Local digitized newspapers
The W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive serves as a repository for archived newspapers printed in Montevallo and Shelby County, Ala., particularly in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Library databases for newspaper articles
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial - African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers (1827-1998), a full text collection of historical newspapers, provides "a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life."
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Library of Congress Chronicling America Digitized Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more
New York Times
All UM students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times. Follow the instructions below to register for an account using your UM email address.
Once registered, you may access NYTimes.com and the NYTimes mobile application from any location, using your UM email address.
Please follow these steps to register for an account.
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select "University of Montevallo – Montevallo, AL”
- You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your @edu email
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email) *
* The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
For those with an existing New York Times ID (already registered with an @edu address)
If you have previously registered your @edu email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" link found below “Create Account” and log in with the same school issued email address and password previously registered.
Once registered, faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com. Students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose.
