Alabama Review
The Alabama Review is a refereed journal essential to the study of Alabama. Each issue contains articles and book reviews written by a scholar or an expert in the field. The Alabama Review started publication in 1948 and is still published today. The library has print copies of The Alabama Review starting with volume 1,1948. The most recent issues are located in the Unbound Periodical Collection on the main floor. Additional print copies are located in the Bound Periodical Collection on the top floor of the library. For citations to articles from 1963 - present use the library database America History & Life. For citations to articles published from 1948-1967, use the print index shelved with the bound issues of The Alabama Review.
Scholarly journal databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. - Military and Government This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It contains over 3 million citations related to literature and literary criticism, from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Articles from 1896 - 1999 in popular magazines
Scholars of history should know about the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. The library has v. 1 from 1896 to the 1990's located in the Bound Periodicals on the top floor. Use the older issues of the Reader's Guide to locate articles published in popular magazines. For example, if you want to read an article from 1898 about the Spanish War, use the 1898 index to find citations to articles covering the war. You may need to use Interlibrary Loan to obtain the article.
Google Scholar
