Evidence Based Research
Nutritionists and Dieticians conduct Evidence-Based research to support Evidence-Based Practice. The goal is to have the best outcomes for their clients.
The Focus = finding evidence of the best methods, interventions and practices
The Evidence = found in the most current professional research literature
The Goal = best outcomes for the patient
Sample peer reviewed journal article about fasting :
Effect of Alternate-Day Fasting on Weight Loss, Weight Maintenance, and Cardioprotection Among Metabolically Healthy Obese Adults: A Randomized Clinical Trial.
Evidence Based Practice
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE
About Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence-based practice is an approach to health care wherein health practitioners use the best evidence poissible, i.e., the most appropriate information available, to make decisions for individuals, groups and populations.
Evidence-based practice values, enhances and builds on clinical expertise, knowledge of disease mechanisms, and pathophysiology. It involves complex and conscientious decision making based not only on the available evidence but also on client characteristics, situations, and preferences. It recognizes that health care is individualized and ever changing and involves uncertainties and probabilities.
Evidence-based practice incorporates successful strategies that improve client outcomes and derived from various sources of evidence including research, national guidelines, policies, consensus statements, systematic analysis of clinical experience, quality improvement data, specialized knowledge and skills of experts.
Viewed 9/12/2107
https://www.andeal.org/evidence-based-practice
Library Databases for peer reviewed articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
**Access is limited to 4 users at a time - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
