|
SCHOLARLY ARTICLES |
|
| AUTHORS | Written by scholars and researchers in a specific field. |
| Author name(s) appears at the beginning or end of the article. The author(s)' credentials are often included. | |
| AUDIENCE | Written in technical and scholarly language understood by researchers, professionals, and students in that field. |
| SOURCES | Always includes a bibliography (a list of sources or citations). |
| TOPICS |
Focuses on academic study and research in the field. |
| CONTENT | Also called "academic," "scholarly," or "peer-reviewed." The articles generally have a serious look. They often contain results of experiments - graphs, charts, and photographs. Few or no ads. |
| PRIMARY RESEARCH | Scholarly journals will contain both primary and secondary research. |
| PEER REVIEW | Research articles are usually submitted for peer review. |
| INDEXING | Identified in subject-specialized indexes and databases. Eg.: BioOne, PubMed, PsycInfo, MLA Bibliography, Historical Abstracts, etc. |
| EXAMPLES OF JOURNALS | Journal of Experimental Biology, Shakespeare Quarterly, Journal of Educational Research, etc. |
|
POPULAR ARTICLES |
| Written by professional or free-lance writers or occasionally by a well-known scholar |
|
Articles are often written by staff writers. |
| Written for a general audience |
| Rarely includes a bibliography or notes |
| Deals with general interest and current topics |
| The articles generally have glossy photos and illustrations. Includes many ads for consumer goods. Articles are informative but not scholarly. |
| Articles in popular publications are generally considered secondary sources. |
| Not peer-reviewed; reviewed by the publication's editorial staff. |
| Identified in general periodical indexes & databases such as Academic Search Premier, Academic Onefile, etc. |
|
Discover, The Economist |
