Find Articles (Databases)
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of more than 350 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ provides access to approximately 18,000 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- General Science Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
- PubMed Central PMC (full-text subset of PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 2,050 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
BioMed Central
"BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 274 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics."
To find out more about "open access," visit the Open Access LibGuide.
Journal Evaluation
As you will find, there is a plethora of information available to you. The trick is being able to evaluate the information to determine if it will be helpful to you or not. While you can do this with each individual journal article, a better approach to begin with is to evaluate the journal as a whole. What is its scope? What is its audience? Is it peer-reviewed? Would you expect to find articles related to your topic in this journal?
The chart linked below has 26 genetics journals from BioMed Central. As a group, choose one to evaluate and complete the chart attached.
