Nursing & Health Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than 700 full-text journals across a variety of nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes evidence-based care sheets, mini lessons, and more. Watch these how-to videos: Basic Searching and Advanced Searching.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
a collection of databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, and clinical answers.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Online database of 11 million citations and abstracts from health and medical journals and other news sources.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends, which "brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand."
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Anatomy
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window
This 3D atlas of the human body provides interactive models of the body's systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Note: You can access this program through a computer browser with an internet connection. In addition, an app for mobile devices (for phones and tablets) is available. Instructions for accessing and downloading the app (via the App Store and Google Play) are provided on the site.
For usage instructions, go to the Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) guide. - Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window
A detailed 3D interactive anatomy resource.
Interdisciplinary & Related Fields
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Use these instructions to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests.
A Note about Database Use and Yields
Multiple databases should be used when conducting a systematic search. Databases cover topics differently, so it is advisable to use more than one to increase your research yield. The final yield of a systematic search using multiple databases will be much larger than one completed using a single database.
Watch this brief video by Carrie Price, librarian at Towson Univerity to learn more about search results and yields.
How Many Results Should Be Relevant by Carrie Price at Towson University licensed under https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/.