LibGuides: POS 444 / ES 410 Introduction to Public Policy: Newspapers and Country Information

Newspaper sources

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

CIA World Factbook
This is a reference resource produced by the CIA with almanac-style information about the countries of the world. The Factbook is available online and is partially updated every week. It provides a two- to three-page summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 266 entities including U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world.
United States Department of State. Countries &Areas
Country Commercial Guides
Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies around the world by Commerce Department, State Department and other U.S. agencies' professionals.