Searching Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
Search Tips
The search results screen for Academic Search Premier is very similar to the main search screen (when searching fromt the yellow search box on the library homepage). You can narrow your search results by using the limiters in the Refine Results panel (on the left side of the screen).
- Under Limit By
- check "Peer-Reviewed"
- check "Full-text"
- Under Source Type
- check "Academic Journals"
- You can limit by a date range.
- Use the slider or type a date range for the last 5 or 10 years. (ex. 2012 to 2022)
Using the Menu Options: Permalinks, Email, and Citation
Click the link icon to access the permalink for the article. Do not use the url in the browser address bar.
Click the email icon to send a copy of or link to the article to your email account.
Click the citation icon to copy and paste the citation information for the article.
- Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowA combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. Also, it includes freely accessible Arts & Humanities journals.
Search Tips
Are you a visual learner? Gale's Topic Finder offers another way to search that might work for you. Watch this video to learn more.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
**Access is limited to 4 users at a time
Search Tips
-
Go to the "Refine Results" in the left panel. Under "Limit To", click "Linked Full Text".
-
Use the SPORTDiscus Thesaurus for Help with Key Words
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Use these instructions to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
Accessing Full-text Articles in PubMed
Just like Google Scholar, PubMed is linked to our library resources. On each article record, you will see a button that looks like this: 
When you click this button, you will be linked to
- the full-text of the article (if UM library has access to it) OR
- to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request the article to be emailed to you (if UM doesn't have the article but another library does)
For the PubMed integration to work, you must use a PubMed url that is unique to UM (which is listed below). You can save this to your bookmarks, or you can access this anytime under our Databases listing (follow this path: go to the library homepage ->click Databases (button)->click P ->click PubMed).
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=aluomlib
Watch this brief video for a brief demonstration.
