Locate Scientific Terms
Thesaurus. National Library of Agriculture (NAL)
NAL Thesaurus is used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing of AGRICOLA, PubAg and other databases.
PLANTS database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Open Resources
Google Scholar
Use Google's search capability to locate full text of scholarly materials
(Customize Google Scholar)
You can customize Google Scholar to include full-text links to journal articles and other electronic resources available through the University of Montevallo library.
PubAg
A free database from the National Library of Agriculture. Find citations and full-text to peer reviewed journal articles in the agricultural sciences. Use Google Scholar to locate full text. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain full text articles.
Featured print journal in the library
Current issues are located on the first floor in the unbound periodicals.
Find Help
We are happy to help you with your research! Chat with us using the blue chat box in the right corner of your screen. 💬 ↘️
- Email us
- Meet with us
- Call us: 205-665-6100
- Visit us: 1st Floor Research Help Desk
Steps in library research
-
Seek background information to help choose your terms/keywords
-
Construct your search using Advanced search
-
Combine distinct terms using AND; combine similar terms using OR
Library Databases
-
BioOne This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of more than 350 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE provides access to information on all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Additional databases to search for peer-reviewed articles are available to students and faculty
Search Strategies
1. Use Advanced Search Mode
2. Employ Boolean Logic
BioONE Complete Search EXAMPLE:
GreenFILE
Discovery Search Box: search everything in the library
Discovery System Advanced Search
