e Reference Sources
- AvogadroAvogadro is an advanced molecule editor and visualizer designed for cross-platform use in computational chemistry, molecular modeling, bioinformatics, materials science, and related areas. It offers flexible high quality rendering and a powerful plugin architecture.
- NCMS Solvents DatabaseSOLV-DB, your one-stop source for solvents data.
- NIST Chemical Kinetics DatabaseCritically evaluated data on gas-phase chemical kinetics, from the NIST.
- NIST Chemistry Web BookCritically evaluated data on chemical substances, from the NIST.
- NIST Solution Kinetics DatabaseCritically evaluated data on chemical kinetics in solutions, from the NIST.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowInformation on the biological activities of small molecules, compiled by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Organic synthesis reference sources
- ChemSpiderChemSpider SyntheticPages is a free database of practical procedures for research workers in synthetic chemistry, written by chemists for chemists.
Inorganic Materials
- Ceramics Web BookEvaluated data from NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
- Diatomic Spectral DatabaseSpectral data for diatomic moleules, from NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
- Mat WebSearchable database of materials properties: polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors.
- Minerology DatabaseThe Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library
- PGM DatabaseData on platinum group metals and alloys.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides immediate access to over 6000 streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Meridian, and others.
Recommended Websites
Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds
Common Chemistry
From Chemical Abstracts Service, a free look-up for CAS Registry Numbers of approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
Directory of Graduate Research
Searchable online version of the American Chemical Society's Directory of Graduate Research, providing information on graduate programs at universities in the United States and Canada.
Hazardous Substance Data Bank (HSDB)
IUPAC Gold Book
Compilation of chemical terminology from IUPAC (International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry).
The Photographic Periodical Table of Elements
Interactive table with images
The Periodical Table of Videos
Periodic table with video clips of descriptions of elements, from chemists at the University of Nottingham (UK).
