Google Scholar
Open Access Chemistry Journals
- Wiley Open AccessWiley Open Access is an initiative from Wiley to drive quality peer reviewed publishing with speed and efficiency through open access publication. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals and societies as well as supported by internationally renowned editorial board members.
- Beilstein Institute Open Access journalsAll articles published in the Beilstein Journals are fully peer reviewed, to ensure their quality, originality, novelty and importance. Articles are freely available online worldwide immediately on publication, and are archived in public repositories. Authors retain the copyright to their work. The Beilstein Journals are supported by international editorial and advisory boards.
The DOI System
A DOI® name differs from commonly used Internet pointers to material such as the URL, because it identifies an object as a first-class entity, not simply the place where the object is located. The DOI System also differs from standard identifier registries such as the International Standard Book Number (ISBN), International Standard Recording Code (ISRC), etc., because it can be associated with defined services and is immediately actionable on a network.
From the DOI Fact Sheets
Newer Journal articles often provide the DIO at the top of the article.
DOIs can be searched in databases and in Goggle Scholar
Best Bet for journals in Chemistry
BEST BET! Use the library database ACS Publications as your first source to locate reputable and scholarly journals articles and papers in Chemistry.
ACS Publications
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Chemical Society, this database offers peer-reviewed articles from journals in the chemical and related sciences. Watch a video tutorial.
Relevant Databases
Carmichael Library has access to several databases to locate journal articles and additional information in the field of chemistry.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Chemical Society, this database offers peer-reviewed articles from journals in the chemical and related sciences. Watch a video tutorial.
- C&EN Archives
- This link opens in a new window
C&EN Archives contains 85+ years of C&EN, fully searchable and integrated on the same award-winning website as the journals and books of the American Chemical Society.C&EN Archives is a growing collection of full cover-to-cover C&EN issues, with the previous year's issues addedon a rolling basis each year. C&EN Archives provides instant access to every page of every issue of C&EN, from cover to cover – more than 500,000 pages of content – in all-new, high-resolution PDF pages. - PubChemPubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
- Chem AbstractsSTN/Chemical Abstracts (Contact Dr. Houston Byrd)
Contact Dr. Houston Byrd for access. STN is an online database service that provides global access to published research, journal literature, patents, structures, sequences, properties, and other data. - PubMedPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information databases allow powerful searching of gene sequences, protein sequences, and much more.
- AGRICOLA: USDA Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool, providing access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. (Note: this database does not link to UM's full text databases).
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowFree, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
ChemSpider Tutorial
ACS Full text journals
The following journals are available in full text (back to 1996) via the ACS Publications database.
Accounts of Chemical Research
ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces
ACS Catalysis
ACS Chemical Biology
ACS Chemical Neuroscience
ACS Combinatorial Science
ACS Medicinal Chemisty Letters
ACS Nano
Analytical Chemistry
Biochemistry
Bioconjugate Checmistry
Biomacromolecules
Chemical Research in Toxicology
Chemical Reviews
Chemistry of Materials
Crystal Growth & Design
Energy & Fuels
Environmental Science & Technology
Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research
Inorganic Chemistry
Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry
Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data
Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling
Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation
Journal of Medicinal Chemistry
Jouranl of Natural Products
Journal of Physical Chemistry
Journal of Proteome Research
Journal of the American Chemical Society
Langmuir
Macromolecules
Molecular Pharmaceutics
Nano Letters
Organic Letters
Organic Process Research & Development
Organometallics
The Journal of Organic Chemistry
The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters
ACS Macro Letters
ACS Synthetic Biology
What's this journal all about?
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
