Exercise and Nutrition Science (EXNS) at UM
Exercise and Nutrition Science at the University of Montevallo
Concentrations offered in:
- Allied Health
- Health Promotion
- Nutrition and Wellness/Dietetics
- Strength and Conditioning
AL Dept. of Public Health
Kayla Johnson
Exercise & Nutrition Science
General Research Guide
This guide is a general resource for UM's Exercise and Nutrition Science students. It highlights relevant library and campus resources as well as related websites.
Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body)
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This 3D atlas of the human body provides interactive models of the body's systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Note: You can access this program through a computer browser with an internet connection. In addition, an app for mobile devices (for phones and tablets) is available. Instructions for accessing and downloading the app (via the App Store and Google Play) are provided on the site.
For usage instructions, go to the Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) guide.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Medical Subject Headings
(use with PubMed searching)
Databases for Exercise and Sports Sciences
The following databases are your best bets when you are trying to locate articles and documents pertaining to exercise & sports sciences:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
**Access is limited to 4 users at a time
