Newspaper Databases
- Alabama News Sources This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.I Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
- America's News This link opens in a new window
Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
UM subscribes to the New York Times. Students, faculty, and staff can register for an account using their UM email address. Follow these instructions to complete a one-time registration process. Once registered, you can access NYTimes.com and the NYT mobile app from any location, using your UM email address.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial
Recommended Databases: General
The Complete A-Z of databases can be found here.
A list of databases by Subject is available as a drop-down menu on the page with the A-Z list.
- Encyclopedia of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama's famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection is an interdisciplinary collection of nearly 350 high quality, peer reviewed journals concentrated in the humanities and social sciences. Access the User Guide (with video tutorials).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection containing thousands of educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content comes from quality publishers like PBS, Meridian, Cambridge Educational, the BBC, National Geographic and more. UM community members have access to over 40,000 titles. Many of the titles are closed captioned.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to the cross-searchable full text of approximately 700 different reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, chronologies, etc.).
Alabama Resources
Subject-Specific Databases
- AGRICOLA: USDA Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool, providing access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. (Note: this database does not link to UM's full text databases). - America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of more than 350 leading journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial - Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new windowWith more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
