Archives Digital Collections
Click each image to access the digital collection.
About the Digital Collections
Founded in 1896, the Alabama Girl's Industrial School offered young women an advanced educational experience. Gradually, the school transitioned into the Alabama Girls Technical Institute in 1913 and Alabama College in 1923. The final changes in name and mission occurred in 1969 when it became the University of Montevallo, Alabama's four-year public liberal arts institution. The University of Montevallo is a member of the prestigious Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges.
This digital project was made possible by a partnership with Lyrasis and the Lyrasis Mass Digitization Collaborative, underwritten by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
This collection highlights both the academic and campus life of students through course catalogs, yearbooks, and various pamphlets. Contents include all yearbooks, ranging from 1907-2010, and bulletins, from 1895-1941. The materials are located at: http://www.archive.org/details/universityofmontevallo and may also be viewed by the Browse by Subject / Keywords and Browse by date features.
Who's Who on Campus
Dr. John W. Stewart III, President of University of Montevallo
presidentsoffice@montevallo.edu
Office: Calkins Hall
Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
Dr. Tammi Dahle
Disability Support Services
Students with documented long-term or permanent disabilities may make accommodation requests related to their housing assignment (such as flashing fire alarms for deaf/hard-of-hearing, bathroom grab bars, ground floor assignment, wheelchair access, or a private room) or dietary restrictions (such as severe or anaphylactic food allergies).
Tim Alexander, Chief of Police and Campus Safety
Department of Public Safety
talexand@montevallo.edu
Office: Police Station
Falcon Foods Staff
Mr. Jason Quarles, Director of Dining Services
Information Services & Technology
Campus Computing
Housing & Resident Life
Mr. John Denton, Director of Housing and Resident Life
University of Montevallo History
- White Columns & Red Brick: Searchable Digitized Version
A campus history featuring the University of Montevallo buildings. If your profile is about a campus building, you should definitely take a look at this one! This book does not contain a table of contents, but a list of the buildings is in the PDF below.
- Buildings in White Columns & Red BricksA list of the buildings covered in White Columns & Red Bricks, which does not contain a Table of Contents.
- White Columns & Red Brick byCall Number: LD3544.5 .G75 1988Publication Date: 1988This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Years Rich and Fruitful: Searchable Digitized Version
Written by alumnae and long-serving Library Director Mary Frances Tipton, Years Rich and Fruitful was produced for the school's 1996 centenary. The coffee table style publication relies heavily on photographs and provides a succinct history of campus since the doors opened on October 12, 1896.
- Years Rich and Fruitful: University of Montevallo 1896-1996 byCall Number: LD3543 .T57 1996Publication Date: 1996This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Alabama College 1896-1969: Searchable Digitized Version
Alabama College 1896-1969 is Dr. Lucille Griffith's preeminent history of campus. The book documents from the creation of the Alabama Girls' Industrial School up to the 1969 transition the University of Montevallo.
- Alabama College, 1896-1969 byCall Number: LD3543 .G7Publication Date: 1969This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years: Searchable Digitized Version
A searchable digitized version of Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years.
- Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years byCall Number: F334.M68 M47Publication Date: 1977This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- The Lives and Times of Kingswood in Alabama, 1817-1980: Searchable Digitized VersionWritten by the wife of a former University of Montevallo President, the book chronicles the story of Edmund King's family and the life of the his plantation. The author also led the effort to save the home, restore it to its original Federal style appearance, and make it a centerpiece of the campus historical district.
- The Lives and Times of Kingswood in Alabama, 1817-1890 byCall Number: F334.M68 J6Publication Date: 1976This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Alabama Heritage Article about UM HistoryArticle from Alabama Heritage about the history of Montevallo, published in Spring 2007.
Montevallo by Call Number: F334.M68 M66 2011ISBN: 9780738587431Publication Date: 2011-05-23This book is available in print only (no digitized version). It includes historical information about both the town and university.- College Night: A Centennial Celebration byCall Number: LD3543.C65 2019Publication Date: 2019This book is available in print only (no digitized version) but a scan of the Table of Contents is available in the PDF below. If you are writing about College Night, this should be the first resource you consult.
- College Night: A Centennial CelebrationTable of Contents
