Public Policy, Family Law
Babies of Technology by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780300215878Publication Date: 2017This book is the first to consider the voice of the child in discussions about regulating the fertility industry.
Finding Time by Call Number: HD4904.25 .B68 2016ISBN: 0674660161Publication Date: 2016Heather Boushey demonstrates with clarity and compassion that economic efficiency and equity do not have to be enemies. They can be reconciled if we have the vision to forge a new social contract for business, government, and private citizens.
Fragile Families by Call Number: HV743.S36 R637 2017ISBN: 0812249380Publication Date: 2017Fragile Families focuses on the everyday experiences of Latina/o families whose lives are shaped at the nexus of child welfare services and immigration enforcement.
Legalizing LGBT Families by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781479857647Publication Date: 2015Ultimately, the stories of LGBT parents in this book reflect a rich and varied relationship between the law, the state, and the private family goals of individuals.
Marriage, Divorce and Adoption
Becoming Nicole by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 N87 2016ISBN: 0812995430Publication Date: 2016It's the story of a family struggling with--and embracing--a transgender child. But more than that, it's about accepting one another, and ourselves, in all our messy, contradictory glory."--Jennifer Finney Boylan, former co-chair of GLAAD and author of She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders
Caring for Your Adopted Child by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781610022156Publication Date: 2018This comprehensive resource offers trusted parenting advice from a leading adoption medicine expert and the American Academy of Pediatrics, focusing on the physical and emotional well-being of adopted children.
The Equal Parenting Presumption by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780773542914Publication Date: 2013The Equal Parent Presumption addresses a major barrier to the principle of gender equality in parenting after divorce, and proposes a viable alternative to sole custody in the form of a legal presumption of shared and equal parenting.
Family Law and the Indissolubility of Parenthood by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780521116107Publication Date: 2011Experience has shown that although marriage may be freely dissoluble, parenthood is not. Dealing with the most difficult issues in family law, this book charts a path for law reform that recognizes that the family endures despite the separation of parents, while allowing room for people to make a fresh start and prioritizing the safety of all concerned when making decisions about parenting after separation.
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States: the road to the Supreme Court by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781442212053Publication Date: 2014
Additional library databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial - PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Watch video about full-text in PubMed.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Use these instructions to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Discovery Search Box
Background Information
American Child Bride by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781469629537Publication Date: 2016Syrett sheds new light on the American public's perceptions of young people marrying and the ways that individuals and communities challenged the complex legalities and cultural norms brought to the fore when underage citizens, by choice or coercion, became husband and wife.
The Family: a World History by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780195338140Publication Date: 2012This book addresses the question of what world history looks like when the family is at the center of the story.
Family Policy and the American Safety Net by Call Number: HQ536 .G52 2013ISBN: 1412998948Publication Date: 2012This volume begins with an historical look at the development of family policy in America.
Parenting
Borders of Belonging by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781503607927Publication Date: 2019-02-26Borders of Belonging investigates a pressing but previously unexplored aspect of immigration in America--the impact of immigration policies and practices not only on undocumented migrants, but also on their family members, some of whom possess a form of legal status.
Commuter Spouses by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781501731181Publication Date: 2019Commuter spouses actually maintain a strong commitment to their marriage. These partners illustrate the stickiness of traditional marriage ideals while simultaneously subverting expectations.
Family Matters by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780817320331Publication Date: 2019By contextualizing the history of Dobson's reign, Løvdal Stephens's discerning analysis fills an important gap in our understandings of the politics and culture of late twentieth-century conservative Christianity in the United States.
Family Routines and Rituals by Call Number: HQ728 .F43 2006ISBN: 0300116969Publication Date: 2006Looking at a range of family activities from bedtime stories to special holiday meals, Fiese relates such occasions to significant issues including parenting competence, child adjustment, and relational well-being.
Mothering Queerly, Queering Motherhood by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781438447179Publication Date: 2013
